Illiana Beer Rackers Union
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Introduction

+9
wrckdvr
keith
bpear
OIBRU2
BassClefBrews
kjung
CGreen
Whatever
EricRuuska
13 posters

Go down

My Introduction Empty My Introduction

Post  EricRuuska Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:42 am

Hey everyone,

I'm Eric Ruuska, and I've been brewing since 2002. I took a hiatus of a couple years, but I've gotten back into brewing in the last few months. I've made the jump to all grain brewing, and now I find myself looking for all sorts of ways to improve my beers while bringing down my costs.

I live down the road a ways in Rensselaer, but I'm glad to have found a group of like-minded guys (and gals) who can get together and help each other improve the brew and have some fun.

Oh, and thanks to Bob for putting out the signup sheet, and for the Admin here for setting up the group!

Happy Brewing,
Eric
EricRuuska
EricRuuska

Back to top Go down

My Introduction Empty Re: My Introduction

Post  Whatever Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:43 am

My wife calls me an asshole, my friends call me dumb, and my parents call me a liability...I think they're all-right.

The one thing they do NOT call me is 'tater salad, even though I do like scotch.

I been brewing for bout 18 months, and haven't given up yet, so I think it'll stick. I'm about 25 batches in if you count being an active participant in batches brewed by friends at my place, if you don't then I'm at about 20 batches.

I started doing partials, and after the first three batches went all grain using extract for fortification purposes only.

I'm 1/2 Dutch, therefore I'm pretty cheap, but I have amassed quite a decent inexpensive, half-assed rig setup...so if you're frugal, and interested in making the all-grain jump on the cheap, seek me out. I can point you in the direction I went, and where I found the best deals.